Beate Borrmann 
Costume Design

Staatsballett Berlin
www.staatsballett-berlin.de

Sasha Waltz & Guests
www.sashawaltz.de

Staatsoper Berlin
www.staatsoper-berlin.de

Schaubühne Berlin
www.schaubuehne.de

Slovenian National Opera, Ljubljana
www.opera.si

matanicola
www.matanicola.com

Beate Borrmann was born in Berlin in 1975. She studied Fashion, Costume and Stage Design in Berlin, Saint Petersburg and Krakow. Besides working as an assistant costume and stage designer she has produced her own designs for Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz Berlin, Staatsoper Unter den Linden Berlin and Kleisttheater Frankfurt/Oder. She has worked with Sasha Waltz since 2003 and created the costumes for Sasha Waltz’s »Gezeiten«, »Dialoge 06 – Radiale Systeme« and »Jagden und Formen (Zustand 2008)«.

Photography: Barbara Dietl

In collaboration with Hussein Chalayan and Sasha Waltz, Beate Borrmann designed the costumes for the choreographic opera »Passion« at Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, Paris. In 2012 she designed the costumes for Sasha Waltz’s and Mark Andre’s choreographic concert »gefaltet« as well as for the dance project »MusicTANZ – Carmen« within the education program of the Berliner Philharmoniker.
In 2013 she created the costumes for Sasha Waltz’s »Dialoge Kolkata« in India as well as for »Dialoge Avignon« in collaboration with the artist GIOM.
In 2014 Beate Borrmann designed the costumes for the Opera »Orfeo« of Sasha Waltz, to be seen in Berlin in Staatsoper Unter den Linden. In 2016 she worked with Ai Weiwei on his installation »Laundromat« at Jeffrey Deitch Gallery, New York City. In 2017 she worked for the first time with Staatsballett Berlin, for Nacho Duato’s production »Erde«. In 2018 she designed the costumes for »The Tales of Hoffmann« by Jacques Offenbach at the Slovenian National Opera in Ljubljana.

Beate Borrmann lives and works in Berlin and Mecklenburg.

Beate Borrmann
Tel.: +49 - (0)173 - 445 80 91

Beate Borrmann
Stargarder Straße 19
10437 Berlin, Germany
T.: +49 - (0)173 - 445 80 91


Photography:
Sebastian Bolesch, www.sebastian-bolesch.de
Barbara Dietl, www.dietlb.de
Alexander Gnädinger, www.alexandergnaedinger.de
Margaretha Heller
Fernando Marcos, fernandomarcos.blogspot.de
Dominik Mentzos, www.mentzos.de
Yan Revazov, www.yanrevazov.com
Monika Rittershaus, www.monikarittershaus.de
Sandra Rubies, www.sandra-rubies.com
Stephanie Schweigert, www.spgy.de
Darja Stravs Tisu, www.darjin.net
Bernd Uhlig, www.bernd-uhlig-fotografie.com
Martin Wälde
Gert Weigelt, www.gert-weigelt.de


Design & Programming:
Ronny Schulz Malware


Legal Notes:
All content of this website is protected by copyright.
No reproduction without permission.
Photo copyrights owned by the mentioned authors.
No responsibility for content of external websites referred to from this site.


Data Protection:
This website does not collect any personal data.
It also uses no third party tools for data collection nor cookies.
By using this website anonymized technical data will be stored in server log files (IP address, browser version, operating system, time stamp, time delay, submitted files, transmission and error state, data volume, referring website). These data are used exclusively for statistic purposes and will be deleted after 18 months.

DE | EN